Narendra Modi Set to Take Oath for Third Term as Prime Minister

Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi is set to take the oath of office today, marking the beginning of his third consecutive term. This historic event will take place at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, where Modi, 73, will join the ranks of India’s first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, who also served three terms after winning the general elections in 1952, 1957, and 1962.

Despite a strong performance, the BJP did not secure an outright majority in this election, winning 240 seats, a decrease from its 303 seats in 2019 and 282 seats in 2014. However, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured a total of 286 seats, enabling it to form the government with the support of its coalition partners.

Several new faces are expected to join Modi’s Council of Ministers, reflecting the coalition’s diverse representation. MPs from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, particularly from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the BJP, will be inducted. Notable names include TDP’s Ram Mohan Naidu and Pemmasani Chandrashekhar, JD(S)’s H.D. Kumaraswamy, and BJP leaders such as Sarbananda Sonowal, Nitin Gadkari, and Nirmala Sitharaman.

In a significant move, the Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge is likely to attend the swearing-in ceremony on behalf of the Opposition, representing his role as the Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha. This attendance underscores the democratic traditions and the respect for constitutional processes in India.

The swearing-in ceremony will see the participation of leaders from seven countries in South Asia and the Indian Ocean region, highlighting India’s regional diplomatic engagements. The event is scheduled for 7.15 p.m., preceded by a tea party for the MPs who will be part of the new Council of Ministers at the Prime Minister’s residence.

This third term for Modi is set against a backdrop of heightened expectations and significant challenges. As he takes office, the focus will be on the promises made during the election campaign, including economic reforms, anti-corruption measures, and strengthening national security.

The inclusion of new ministers from diverse regions and backgrounds is expected to bring fresh perspectives into the administration. Leaders such as Chirag Paswan (LJP), Ram Nath Thakur (JD(U)), Jitan Ram Manjhi (HAM), Jayant Chaudhary (RLD), and Anupriya Patel (Apna Dal (Soneylal)) are anticipated to play key roles in Modi’s cabinet.

The streets of Delhi have been adorned with posters featuring Narendra Modi, celebrating his historic third term. This day marks not just a political milestone for Modi and the BJP but also a moment of significant political transition for India, as it navigates through its diverse challenges and opportunities in the years to come.

Related posts

Earthquake tremors felt in parts of Delhi, Jammu&Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh,Uttarakhand and Punjab

Ravi Malhorta

Modi Govt. failed to understand the difference between Census & Sample ? We do only surveys not census, says Bihar CM Nitish Kumar.

Shilpa M

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Roiled by Controversy as Nehru’s Portrait is Replaced with Ambedkar’s

Ravi Malhorta